There are wonders in our own back yards…

I’ve loved science since I was a little tiny kid. Learning and discovering the world around me, even the very “ordinary” things has always fascinated me. I remember a time when I was around six or seven years old and was allowed to go across the street from our tiny apartment to a vacant lot to play. The lot, as many are in Florida, was full of sandspurs. I was playing “Scientist,” collecting “samples.”. I had even brought some Saran Wrap so I could wrap up my samples and bring them home for further study!

When I had little kids to herd, we were fortunate enough to live near the bay and I would take the children over at low tide so we could squish through the mud and see what treasures we could find: a lightning whelk or a sea squirt or jellyfish.

There are wonders in our own back yards…

(Click on the images to make them bigger.)

2 thoughts on “There are wonders in our own back yards…

Leave a Reply

