The long and blinding road…

The hubby and I drove south this weekend for what was supposed to be a fun blow-out for our good friend’s 50th birthday. Through circumstances beyond our control, the hubby was not able to attend (and thus was not able to do light-up hula hooping by the hotel pool at 1:30 a.m.), but that’s not the story I want to tell today.

Today’s story is about the amazing wildflowers that are blooming along the roadsides right now. Whenever I’m traveling in a car, I watch the sides of the road and the median to catch glimpses of wildflowers. It’s not possible, or advisable, to take photos of them as we zip along at highway speeds, especially when I’m driving, so I’ve found representative photos of what I saw this weekend. I’ve gotten pretty good at high speed plant ID, but there were a couple I’m not 100% sure of

Rain lilies are so uncommon and delightful! rainlily

 

Vivid red, like crimson clover, really grabs the eye. red clover

There was quite a bit of purple. Some of it I thought was lyre leaf sage Lyre leaf sage

It could also have been Eustis Lake beardtongue (prize for best common name)Eustis Lake Beardtongue

There was some lower growing purple, too, usually in the lowest part of the roadside swales. It might have been fourleaf vetchFourleaf vetch

or possible blue-eyed grassBlue-eyed Grass

And of course, the annual phlox is glorious in shades of pinkannual phloxWe are so lucky that FDOT supports using native Florida wildflowers!

 

What’s blooming wherever you are?

(Photos are from Florida Native Plant Society, FDOT, UF IFAS, the Florida Wildflower Society, and hawthornhillwildflowers.blogspot.com)

 

3 thoughts on “The long and blinding road…

  1. I always think I’m the only one that does that high-speed plant ID thing. Some of our greatest pleasures in nature are the size of a pinkie-nail. Recently I have seen lots of Phlox, Marigolds, Crimson Clover and an uncommon amount of Sage. I have also noticed as of recent a not-so-uncommon yield of Rain Lilies in multiple colors (white, pink and yellow). More typical are patches of Southern Plantain with their long flowering spikes erect into the wind. I also saw my first batch of Springtime Ladies’ Tresses orchid blooming in a roadside environ. That’s the queue to start looking more and research in the spots I have noticed them before.

    Although my work trips to South Florida are over for now, I still get to investigate Central Florida on virtually any given, sunny work day. That’s a spiritual freedom realized by few . . . as you would know . . . on the long and blinding road!

Leave a Reply

