Weight for it…

I hate math. That’s not really true. I approach math like the Holy Trinity: I don’t understand it, but I don’t have to to have faith in it, respect it, even worship it.

I’m also kind of a junior amateur nutritionist. I’m always looking for just the right combination and amounts of food that will power me up all day, appeal to my senses, and make me as skinny as Calista Flockhart. (That way I could hang out with Harrison Ford all the time.)

20140521-122358.jpg

Well, maybe not that skinny.

Recently, I saw a study saying that we usually don’t time our consumption of protein well, eating the biggest share of our daily input at dinner time, too late in the day to properly use it for energy and muscle rebuilding. The amounts of protein the authors gave the subjects was meant to reflect normal amounts, but I realized that it was way more protein than I usually eat, maybe twice as much.

At the same time, I really enjoy my veggies, eating lots of leafy greens and brightly colored veg to get my vitamins, so I don’t have to take a pill, but I’m probably a bit shy on that side of the equation too.

At the same time, I know that body weight is about math: calories eaten minus calories expended.

If I think about how much I would have to eat to get all the protein and all the nutrients my body needs to be healthy, well…I’m gonna need a longer bike ride to work. Or maybe a different job that requires 8 hours a day of heavy labor. Like an old time prison inmate. Busting rocks with a sledgehammer.

Because otherwise the math just does not work.

Leave a Reply

